free trialproducts & servicesabout usFAQsA-Z index

 News Archive - European INDEX

     Romano Prodi's Cabinet approved by Senate  <<back  next>>

The new Italian cabinet formed by Prime Minister Romano Prodi on 17 May faced its first approval vote in the upper house, the Senate, on 19 May. It won the vote by 165 votes in favour to 155 against.

It will face a second approval vote next week in the lower house, the Chamber of Deputies, but should win this comfortably as the new government has a 70-seat majority.

The proposed new Union alliance Italian Cabinet comprises members of the Olive Tree Movement (Ulivo) (itself composed of The Daisy (M), the Democrats of the Left (DS), and the European Republican Movement), the Communist Refoundation Party (PRC), the Rose in the Fist (RnP), the Party of Italian Communists (PCI), Italy of Values (IDV), the Federation of the Greens (FV), Popular Alliance-Democratic Union for Europe (UDEUR), the Pensioners' Party, the South Tyrolean People's Party, the Socialists, the Consumers' List, the League for Autonomy-Lombard Alliance, Autonomy-Liberty-Democracy, and the Veneto Front League.:

Prime Minister Romano Prodi (Ulivo-Ind.)
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Massimo D’Alema (DS)
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Culture Francesco Rutelli (Ulivo-M)
Under-Secretaries of State to the Presidency of the Council of Ministers Enrico Letta (Ulivo-M)
Enrico Micheli (Ulivo-Ind.)
Fabio Gobbo (Ulivo-Ind.)
Riccardo Franco Levi (Ulivo-M)
Minister for the Interior Giuliano Amato (Ulivo-Ind.)
Minister for Justice Clemente Mastella (UDEUR)
Minister for Economic Affairs and Finance Tommaso Padoa Schioppa (Ind.)
Minister for Economic Development Pierluigi Bersani (DS)
Minister for Universities and Reseach Fabio Mussi (DS)
Minister for Education Beppe Fioroni (Ulivo-M)
Minister for Labour and Social Security Cesare Damiano (DS)
Minister for Social Solidarity Paolo Ferrero (PRC)
Minister for Defence Arturo Parisi (Ulivo-M)
Minister for Agriculture, Food and Forestry Paolo De Castro (Ulivo-Ind.)
Minister for the Environment and Territorial Protection Alfonso Pecoraro Scanio (FV)
Minister for Infrastructure Antonio Di Pietro (IDV)
Minister for Transport Alessandro Bianchi (PdCI)
Minister for Health Livia Turco (DS)
Minister for Communications Paolo Gentiloni (Ulivo-M)
Minister for Regional Affairs and Local Autonomy Linda Lanzillotta (Ulivo-M)
Minister in charge of carrying out the Government’s programme Giulio Santagata (Ulivo-M)
Minister for Institutional Reform Luigi Nicolais (DS)
Minister for Civil Rights and Equal Opportunities Barbara Pollastrini (DS)
Minister for European Policy and International Trade Emma Bonino (RnP)
Minister for Relations with Parliament and Institutional Reform Vannino Chiti (DS)
Minister for Family Policy Rosy Bindi (Ulivo-M)
Minister for Youth and Sports Giovanna Melandri (DS)

18 May 2006

 Last updated: 25/05/2006 14:49:00

Subscriber login




        saved searches
Quick search
Person Name e.g. Cameron
Biography e.g. Smoking
Organisation e.g. DCLG
Favourite Links

Select Committees
Govt Departments